THE Proud Scotland Awards is delighted to announce the shortlist for this year’s categories.

Proud Scotland Awards Event Director Peter Ferguson is delighted with the response the event has had and that so many people took the time to nominate others.

He said: “I think society in Scotland is more accepting of the LGBT community than a lot of other places and we want to give people recognition for that. 

"We are delighted with the wide spectrum of nominees from all over Scotland – it’s also encouraging to see places like Orkney making a stance.”

The nominations are as follows: -

Celebrity Ally

  • Emma Thompson
  • Annie Lennox
  • Carol Smillie
  • Janie Godley


  • Tracy McCulloch
  • James Morton
  • Mary Wilson
  • Marcas Mac an Tuarineir


  • NetworQ Orkney
  • Proud Ness
  • Quoir
  • Aberdeen Taexali RFC

Community Ally

  • Christine McMurdie
  • Fiona Dryburgh
  • JK Rowling
  • Kathleen Todd

Corporate Ally

  • Tesco
  • Barclays Bank
  • Sky
  • Clydesdale Bank/Virgin Money

Arts & Media

  • Undividing Lines
  • Civil Disobedience
  • Watercolour Music
  • Channel 4 (20th anniversary of Queer as Folk)


  • Johanne Mundie
  • Ross Jackson Police Scotland
  • Pvt. Andrew McGeachy
  • Stevie Maybanks Scottish Fire & Rescue


  • Moxy Group
  • Prestonfield House Hotel Group
  • Citizen M
  • Village Hotel Group


  • Salty Dog Dundee
  • The Waterloo Bar Glasgow
  • Habana Edinburgh
  • Riding Rooms Glasgow


  • Cat Harvey
  • Bryan Rutherford
  • Gary Robertson
  • Jamie McIvor

Large Employer

  • Sky
  • RBS
  • Bank of Scotland
  • Wagamama

Political Leadership

  • Mhairi Black MP
  • Kezia Dugdale MSP
  • Jenny Gilruth MSP
  • Cllr. Rhiannon Spear, TIE campaign


  • Category is Books Glasgow
  • Heather Cottage Crafts Arbroath
  • Co-operative Group
  • Luke & Jack

Small Employer

  • Historic Environment Scotland
  • Burness Paull
  • Underground Bar
  • Puddleducks Childcare


  • Jet2
  • Barrhead Travel
  • Scotrail
  • Caledonian MacBrayne Ferries


  • The Humanist Society Scotland
  • Cameron House Hotel
  • Charmed Floristree
  • Grand Central Hotel


  • Mary Wilson
  • Christopher Saynt
  • Robert Forrester
  • Hotscots FC Edinburgh


  • Scott Agnew
  • Cheri Treiffel
  • Edinburgh Gay Men’s Chorus
  • Robert & May Miller


  • Aria Welsh
  • Maggie Kinloch
  • Ryan Barr
  • Lesley Robertson
  • John Naples-Campbell
  • Michael Farquhar

The Hall of Fame winner will be announced on the night of the event.

The glittering ceremony, celebrating the country’s LGBT champions, will be held on Saturday, June 1, at the Hilton Hotel, Glasgow.

Tickets are on sale for the event now from